Skip Navigation Links

News and Events

Archived News


ProLiteracy Receives Champions of Literacy Award from Literacy Texas

What We Do


ProLiteracy Receives Champions of Literacy Award from Literacy Texas

David C. Harvey, president and CEO of ProLiteracy, is pleased to announce that ProLiteracy is one of ten recipients of the Champions of Literacy award from Literacy Texas. The award was given at a reception in Austin, Texas, on August 9, 2011. The Champions of Literacy awards were given in conjunction with the annual Literacy Texas Conference and in honor of the organization's 10th anniversary.

Literacy Texas, formerly the Texas Association of Adult Literacy Councils, is a statewide coalition of programs that work with children, families, and adults. The annual conference also included a keynote address by Judy Blankenship Cheatham, vice president of literacy services for Reading is Fundamental.

Other Champions of Literacy award recipients include
•  Freda Peppard, founder of Literacy Texas
•  Nancy Crawford, executive director of Literacy Council of Tyler
•  Dollar General
•  Verizon
•  Texas LEARNS
•  The Texas Center for the Advancement of Literacy and Learning (TCALL)
•  Susan Narvaiz, former mayor of San Marcos
•  Senator Carlos Uresti
•  U.S. Congressman Ruben Hinojosa

"I am honored to accept this award on behalf of the hardworking staff and board of ProLiteracy, who devote every day to improving our shared community through adult literacy," said Harvey. "It's exciting and inspirational to be involved with adult literacy programs around the country and in many communities overseas, and we are so pleased to be recognized in this way, along with the other esteemed winners, by Literacy Texas."

Explore other
| New Readers Press International Programs Ruth J. Colvin Center ProLiteracy Education Network