Secondary Banner-Award

The President's Award

Every two years at the ProLiteracy Conference on Adult Education, we present the President’s Award to a person or organization whose devotion to and accomplishments in the field of adult literacy reflect ProLiteracy’s mission and our highest ideals. Recipients of this award have a record of exemplary performance and have demonstrated achievement, integrity, selflessness, leadership, and service to the adult education community.

Southwest Airlines is the recipient of the 2019 ProLiteracy President’s Award

There are 43 million adults in the United States who lack basic education and literacy skills. For adult students, literacy is the key to higher learning and a window to the world. For many years, Southwest Airlines has shown longstanding commitment to and investment in literacy and education programs throughout the country and beyond. ProLiteracy is thankful to the organization for supporting us, and helping empower so many adult learners through literacy. We are happy to recognize this long partnership by awarding Southwest Airlines the ProLiteracy President’s Award this year for their service and dedication to adult literacy.

Previous President’s Award Winners:

2017 - Romance Writers of America

2011 - Dollar General Literacy Foundation - Denine Torr 

2015 – Pitney Bowes Foundation 

8. Southwest

Southwest Airlines champions causes that matter most in the communities it serves by developing relationships with nonprofit organizations on both a local and national level.